Press release

Los Angeles City Hall Press Conference and Ceremonial Unveiling with the Molina Family. 

LOS ANGELES, CA – Tomorrow, Wednesday, May 31, 2023, Councilwoman Monica Rodriguez will host a Department of Transportation “Gloria Molina Legacy Pathway” and signage unveiling in honor of the late Gloria Molina at Los Angeles City Hall, Spring Street, at 9:00 AM. This event will be held in recognition of Molina’s birth date with Councilmembers and members of her family and staff.

Councilwoman Rodriguez introduced motion 23-0335 which was adopted by the full City Council for the Department of Transportation to designate the mid-block pedestrian crosswalks through Grand Park to be named the “Gloria Molina Legacy Pathway.” The motion has also called for the installation of permanent ceremonial signs to honor Gloria Molina. The signs will be installed at four crosswalk locations that traverse through the newly named Gloria Molina Grand Park in honor of Molina’s lasting legacy.

The installation of the “Gloria Molina Legacy Pathway” and signage is a celebration and tribute to the late matriarch of Los Angeles. A dedicated public servant, Chicana and advocate, Molina was the first Latina California State Assemblymember, Latina Los Angeles County Supervisor and Latina Los Angeles City Councilmember. Gloria Molina was a pioneer for equity and representation, unapologetic in her demands for social justice.

It is with regret that she is not here to witness this honor.



  • Councilwoman Monica Rodriguez, Council District 7
  • Additional Councilmembers, members of Gloria Molina’s family, and former staff


  • Wednesday, May 31, 2023
  • Press Conference 9:00 AM



  • Los Angeles City Hall, (Forecourt)

200 N. Spring St.

Los Angeles, CA, 90012



Press Conference + Ceremonial Sign Reveal

The four crosswalk installation locations (Between Temple and 1st Street)

  • Grand Avenue
  • North Hill Street
  • North Broadway
  • North Spring Street


Press RSVP:

# # #

Los Angeles City Councilwoman Monica Rodriguez serves as the City’s Chair of Public Safety and represents the 7th Council District in the Northeast San Fernando Valley which includes the neighborhoods of Sylmar, Mission Hills, Pacoima, Lake View Terrace, Sunland, Tujunga, North Hills, Shadow Hills, and La Tuna Canyon.