Press release

Today the task force convened its first meeting to discuss citywide youth development strategy

Los Angeles, CA — Today, the City’s Executive Task Force on Youth Development (Task Force) held its first meeting via teleconference. The Task Force was established through a motion introduced by Councilwoman Monica Rodriguez and its aim is to implement a Citywide youth development strategy.

“This pandemic day-lighted what we already knew — youth are under-invested in our city. This crisis emboldens the disparities that exist among disadvantaged youth and it’s now more important than ever to engage in this work to help mitigate the traumatic impacts of COVID-19 on young people,” said Councilwoman Monica Rodriguez. “COVID-19 won’t hinder our resolve to engage in this conversation and deliver for the youth of Los Angeles.

The City of Los Angeles does not have a centralized approach to youth development. There are 800,000 youth ages 10-24 in Los Angeles, and in 2017-2018, the City spent $60.3 million to provide resources to young people. Youth programs in Los Angeles are spread across 26 departments. Prioritizing youth in Los Angeles is critical — 200,000 youth currently live in poverty, 68,000 are disconnected from school and job opportunities, and over 3,000 are homeless.

The Task Force is responsible for producing a report outlining specific steps and funding requirements necessary to implement a Youth Development Strategy that identifies priorities, recommends programming, and most importantly — measures outcomes and success.

The members of the task force were appointed by the Mayor and members of the Los Angeles City Council. The members include Lou Calanche, Drexel Heard, David C. Turner, Sophia Maldonado, Leann Chapman, Michelle Gutierrez, Adela Barajas, Pierre Ivan Arreola, and Jesse de la Cruz.


Los Angeles City Councilwoman Monica Rodriguez represents the 7th Council District in the Northeast San Fernando Valley which includes the neighborhoods of Sylmar, Mission Hills, Pacoima, Lake View Terrace, Sunland, Tujunga, North Hills, Shadow Hills, and La Tuna Canyon.